Alfred the Great to Elizabeth II

Though it may be called the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland today, it all began in Wessex almost 1100 years ago. From Wessex to England, England to Britain, Britain to Great Britain, the UK has had a few names changes as it grew from one of the seven Heptarchies into the British Empire. Here are the stories of the monarchs who ruled.

Alfred the Great
Elizabeth II
Edward the Confessor
House of Normandy
William the Conqueror
Lady Matilda
The House of Plantagenet
Henry II
Eleanor of Aquitaine
Richard the Lionheart
John Lackland
Prince John
King John
Magna Carta
Hundred Years War
House of Lancaster
House of York
War of the Roses
Richard III
House of Tudor
Henry VII
Henry VIII
House of Stuart
James I/VI
Charles I
Charles II
James II
English Civil War
The Restoration
The Glorious Revolution
William and Mary
House of Hanover
George I
George III
House of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha
House of Windsor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s